Symphony No. 2 in C Minor: ''Resurrection''

Symphony No. 2 in C Minor: "Resurrection"

ISBN 13:  9780486299525

FREE Shipping on 3 books or more! - for all UK orders - find out more


Usually ships in 21 days  

Usually ships in 21 days

Brand:  Dover Publications

Plagued by incessant visions of his own death, Mahler composed a tone poem Totenfeirer (Funeral Rite) that was to become the foundation and first movement of Symphony No. 2, posing the great question, "To what purpose have you lived?" Mahler described the middle movements as post-funeral memories, nostalgic daydreams, and a harsh awakening to the meaningless realities of real life, answered finally by the angelic folk poem "Primal Light," the terror of the Last Judgment, and the salvation of resurrections: "With wings that I wont I shall mount to the light I shall die, so as to live!" an intimation of immortality through the monument of his works.

Composer: Mahler
Format: Music Scores

ISBN 13: 9780486299525

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

UK Delivery

Order 3 or more books to enjoy FREE UK delivery!

Method Cost for Single Book Additional Book
UK Standard £2.70 £0.80   *  Order 3 + books for FREE delivery
UK First Class £3.90 £2.00


Method Cost for Delivery Plus Cost per Book
Europe (Standard Air via Royal Mail) From £5 - FREE on orders over £100  n/a  See More Information
Rest of World (Air Mail) £5.00 £5.00

In Stock items are sent same day (Monday to Friday before 3 pm) or within one working day.

Find out more in our full delivery and returns information