Engravings by Hogarth

(Code: 0486224791)
£ 21.99 (26.11 €)
In Stock - available today.
Add to cart
Engravings by Hogarth
The best commercially available edition of Hogarths prints in a large format book, which better reflects the originals than many other reproductions.
Over 100 of Hogarth's finest and most important engravings including all the major series or "progresses":
The South Sea Scheme, A Midnight Modern Conversation, 'A Harlots Progress', 'A Rakes Progress', Marriage a la Mode, 'Before and After', 'Industry and Idleness' and 'The Four Stages Of Cruelty' and much more.
Many classic works are here in full detail: The Roast Beef of Old England, Time Smoking, The Idle Prentice, Gin Lane, The Hudibras Series, Strolling Actresses in a Barn, The Four Times of the Day. The engravings capture the particular people, places and customs of 18th-century England in a style that is typically satirical and inventive.
The full page illustrations are accompanied by the editor's commentary that places the art in its social context and guides the reader through the incredible amount of detail and action.
This is the superlative edition of Hogarth.

Illustrations: 101 engravings printed in large format.
Author: Hogarth
Size: 230 x 305 mm
Format: Paperback
Copyright: Permission Free

ISBN 13:
ISBN 10 : 0486224791

FREE Shipping on 3 books or more ! - for all UK orders.
Related Items
The Analysis of Beauty
£ 9.99